CUX1

CUX1 INHIBITOR

Repress cancer growth and sensitize cancer cells to DNA damage therapy

 

Indications

Cancer

Mode Of Action

Inhibition of Cut-Like Homeobox 1(CUX1)

Main Advantages

  • Potential therapeutic benefit to patient with RAS-driven cancers
  • CUX1 is not essential to normal cells, but is absolutely required for survival in situations of severe genotoxic stress such as that caused by reactive oxygen species in RAS-driven cancer cells or by DNA-damaging cancer treatments
  • Could avoid severe adverse effects on normal cells typically observed by direct inhibition of base excision repair enzymes
  • Small molecules that inhibit the ability of CUX1 to stimulate base excision repair enzymes are expected to treat RAS-driven cancers with an improved therapeutic window

Collaborators



Goodman Cancer Research Centre at McGill University


Testimonials

Disease Facts / Medical Need

  • Currently there is no treatment that targets RAS-driven tumours.
  • A drug capable of interfering with the ability of CUX1 to participate in DNA repair would target many types of cancers in which reactive oxygen species are produced as a consequence of mutation in a RAS gene or any oncogene that activates the RAS pathway; such activation is seen in 59% of pancreatic cancers and some 30% of human cancers overall.

How This Target Works

Activation of the RAS pathway in cancer cells leads to higher production of reactive oxygen species, which cause DNA damage by oxidation. In turn, sustained DNA damage triggers cellular senescence. Cancer cells can adapt to such oxidative DNA damage by increasing their expression of CUX1, which stimulates the activities of two enzymes that repair oxidized bases in DNA. Knocking down the CUX1 protein has been found to kill all cancer cells that have high levels of reactive oxygen species (ROS).

For more information

Kem Payza

Project Director

514-260-1079 kpayza@neomed.ca
© 2019 NEOMED Institute. All Rights Reserved. // Solutions Web Globalia

CUX1

INHIBITEUR DE CUX1

Répression de la croissance tumorale et sensibilisation des cellules cancéreuses aux thérapies de réparation de l’ADN

 

Indication

Cancer

Mode d’action

Inhibiteur de CUX1 (Cut-Like Homeobox 1)

Principaux avantages

  • Bénéfices thérapeutiques potentiels pour les patients atteints d’un cancer induit par les oncogènes RAS
  • La protéine CUX1 n’est pas essentiel à la survie des cellules normales. Cette protéine ne devient indispensable que dans les situations de stress oxydatif, soit dans les cellules cancéreuses qui produisent un excès de radicaux libres ou à la suite d’un traitement anticancéreux qui cause des dommages à l’ADN
  • Traitement efficace contre les cellules cancéreuses qui produisent des radicaux libres sans causer des dommages aux cellules normales
  • Large fenêtre thérapeutique pour les petites molécules qui inhibent la capacité de CUX1 à stimuler les enzymes de réparation de l’ADN

Collaborateurs



Centre de recherche sur le cancer Goodman (CRCG), Université McGill


Témoignage

Faits sur la maladie / Besoin médical

  • Absence de traitement contre les tumeurs induites par les oncogènes RAS
  • Un médicament capable d’entraver la participation de la protéine CUX1 à la réparation de l’ADN pourrait servir au traitement de nombreux types de cancer qui produisent un excès de radicaux libres suite à la mutation d’un gène RAS ou de tout oncogène qui active la voie RAS; on observe cette activation dans 59 % des cas de cancer pancréatique et environ 30 % de l’ensemble des cas de cancer chez l’humain

Comment fonctionne CUX1?

L’activation de la voie RAS dans les cellules cancéreuses entraîne une hausse de la production de radicaux libres (aussi appelés molécules d’oxygène instables), ce qui a pour effet d’altérer l’ADN par oxydation. À la longue, ces lésions finissent par déclencher la sénescence cellulaire. Or, les cellules cancéreuses peuvent s’adapter à ces lésions oxydatives de l’ADN en exprimant davantage la protéine CUX1, qui stimule deux enzymes qui réparent les bases oxydées de l’ADN. Il est constaté que l’inhibition de la protéine CUX1 cause la mort de tous les types de cellules cancéreuses qui produisent un excès de radicaux libres.

Pour plus d'information

Kem Payza

Directeur de projet

514-260-1079 kpayza@neomed.ca
© 2019 Institut NÉOMED. Tous droits réservés // Solutions Web Globalia